CFAES Give Today
Ohio AgrAbility

Ohio State University Extension


Area Agency on Aging resources - Ohio and National

National Association of Area Agencies on Aging


In Ohio, call 1-866-243-5678 for local Ohio area agencies on aging

Ohio Area Agencies on Aging

Ohio’s Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) respond to the needs of older adults as advocates, planners and funders.  AAAs provide education, information and referral services.  AAAs work with the public and private sectors to help older adults with home and community-based long-term care.

Ohio has 12 AAAs that cumulatively represent all 88 counties.  There are 670 AAAs nationwide.  Ohio AAAs are designated by the Ohio Department of Aging.  Sometimes they are referred to as PSAs, or Planning and Service Areas.

Southwestern Ohio: Region 1 - Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton & Warren counties

Western Ohio: Region 2 - Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble & Shelby counties

Lower Northwestern Ohio: Region 3 - Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Mercer, Putnam & Van Wert counties

Northwestern Ohio: Region 4 - Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Sandusky, Williams & Wood counties

North Central Ohio: Region 5 - Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca & Wyandot counties

Central Ohio: Region 6 - Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Licking, Madison, Pickaway & Union counties

Southern Ohio: Region 7 - Adams, Brown, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, Scioto & Vinton counties

Southeastern Ohio: Region 8 - Athens, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Perry & Washington counties

Eastern Ohio: Region 9 - Belmont, Carroll, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Muskingum & Tuscarawas counties

Eastern Lakefront Ohio: Region 10A - Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain & Medina counties

Akron/Canton area: Region 10B - Portage, Stark, Summit & Wayne counties

Northeastern Ohio: Region 11 - Ashtabula, Columbiana, Mahoning & Trumbull counties